working thesis and things in progress

Ok, this is the fourth time I have sat down to try and write this post. So i’m just going to keep this simple. I found as I researched that I agreed with exactly ONE thing Moosa said. So, I suppose i’m no longer in the vehemently disagree group, but because of this common ground that I’ve found with Moosa, I had to change a few things. My working thesis at this moment is as follows: “Comment sections can be wonderful places, full of healthy online social interactions, and insightful conversation. This is most often the case when there is a thriving community around the content that the comments are attached to.” Now, I very highly doubt that this particular version of the thesis will last the day, but that’s what it is right now. As for pieces of evidence, I have collected three comments from three different Youtubers’ channels:

#diablo Holden, on Markiplier’s “Don’t Starve Together, Episode one,”

“I love watching you.”

 

SEPTIPLIER AWAY, on CinnamonToastKen’s “What the Box? Gameplay.”

“YAYYY THEY DID ALL UPLOAD IT!!! I LOVED WATCHING THIS ON JACK, MARK, AND FELIX’S CHANNELS ITS SUCH AN AMAZING VIDEO I’M SOOO GLAD THEY ALL UPLOADED IT!!! (followed by several different kinds of emoji).

 

Savannah Rohloff on Jackspeticeye’s “Batman: The Telltale Series.”

“who else loves Batman? (and Jack)” *heart emoji* *heart emoji*

 

These comments will help me explain the community behind these Youtubers. I also found quoges from Moosa’s article that really narrow down my focus for my argument:

“Comment sections, to me, are the chronic pain centers of the internet.. . ”

“By removing comment sections altogether, you not only can get more audiences in terms of numbers, but more willing to come back as they know it’s a safe place.”

“It’s about time we combated entitlement by prioritizing safety, solidarity, and quality. . .”

This should be interesting to write about.

Silas Wheedleton

 

1 Thought.

  1. Hey Silas,

    So, like we talked about in class, this is an excellent “so what?” to the thesis…all you need is the stance!

    I’d love to hear your responses to these Moosa quotes you chose. How do you think you can use them to support your points throughout the paper?

    AT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar